Wisconsin Park & Recreation Association 2023 Awards

The Wisconsin Park & Recreation Association’ Awards Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 WPRA Awards. We want to thank the members who took the time to nominate such an outstanding group of nominees!

Professional Award of Merit
Tom Flick 
Appleton Parks, Recreation, and Facilities Management Department

George Wilson Service Award
Jake Anderson
Monona Parks & Recreation

Outstanding Young Professional of the Year
Danielle Gross
Brown Deer Parks and Recreation

Fellowship Award
Tom and Penny Harenburg
Oshkosh Parks Department

Elected Official Award
State Senator Tammy Baldwin 

Partnership Award
Milwaukee Parks Foundation

Aquatics Section

Outstanding Aquatic Professional of the Year
Elaena Noffsinger
City of Janesville

Outstanding Facility Design/Renovation
Verona Aquatic Center
Verona Area School District

Park Section

Outstanding Park Professional of The Year
Rebecca Mattano
Waukesha County Parks

Park Design Under $250,000
Haven Park
City of Sun Prairie

Park Design $250,000 - $499,999
Wolfenbuttel Park
City of Kenosha

Park Design $500,000 - $999,999
Buena Park Improvement Project
City of New Berlin

Park Design $1,000,000 - $3,000,000
Central Park West
Two Rivers Park & Recreation

Park Design Over $3,000,000
Village Park Phase 2
Menomonee Falls Community Education and Recreation Department &
Menomonee Falls Optimist Club

Recreation Section

Outstanding Recreation Professional of the Year
Sara Hudson
City of Ashland Parks and Recreation

Silver Star Awards

Youth Programming
Braids and Brews
City of Port Washington

Adult/Older Adult Programming
Recreational Adult Day Program - RAD 
West Allis-West Milwaukee Recreation & Community Services Department 

Creative Service Delivery/Marketing
Neighborhood Navigators Scholarship Program Outreach
City of Sun Prairie 

Special Events
Clue Room 
City of Elkhorn

A sincere CONGRATULATIONS to all of the outstanding nominees and to the 2023 WPRA award recipients who were honored on Thursday, February 1st, 2024 at our Annual Awards Banquet!